District 8

m Bookmark and Share

Membership is open to all registered nurses who live or work in either Washington or Frederick Counties.


District 8 has a variety of health care practice settings for nurses.  Each county has a large progressive acute care hospital with expanding health care programs and services.  In addition, there are health departments, school nurse progrmas, military health programs at Fort Detrick; long-term care facilities, hospice programs, inpatient psychiatric hospital and a state-owned chronic disease hospital.  Each county has an Associate Degree Nursing Program affiliated with their Community Colleges.  Advanced nursing degree programs are offered through outreach programs by several University programs.

The leadership of District 8 focus on extending continuing education programs to our local geographic area that is supported by both Frederick Memorial and Washington County Hospitals.  The Board is active in the Maryland Nurses Association activities and promotes participation of its members in opportunities for nurse and patient advocacy.

Sandy Vegh is the President of District 8. You may also visit District 8's web site by clicking here.